Tchau 2015!

Can I just send 2015 packing already? This year has been a doozy and I am 100% ready for it to just be over. In so many ways this year was important-we left our jobs, made great memories during another summer on Bainbridge, moved countries, started new jobs, new schools, and settled into a new house.

It was a big one.

There were times I seriously questioned whether it was all worth it-the days when the kids were sad about leaving India, the days when the stress was so crushing that Paul and I could barely communicate, the weeks of living with nothing in a new home in a foreign country-all of those times made me question our sanity. I am so glad we walked through the fire in 2015 but I’m ready to slow down and settle in.

I hope 2016 is full of amazing and simple things. I’d like to get to have a few beach camp outs, I’d like to write more, run stronger, brew a perfect cup of coffee, and perhaps find a way to work a weekly date night into the rotation. I’d like to learn to be more intentional with my time and my words. I’d like to get out of my own way so that I can enjoy my days more. Perhaps I will learn to chill for the first time in my life.

Or maybe it will be more of the same.

But if I can notice the small moments-the good things that appear before me each day, the sun breaks, if you will, I think that will go a long way towards making 2016 that much sweeter. 

 

One thought on “Tchau 2015!

Leave a Reply

