7 Quick Takes-Jet Lag Edition

Seven-Quick-Takes-300x300

This has been the longest. week. ever. It’s been a mix of sleepless nights, tired days, grouchy babies, and snappy parents. As amazing as Christmas in Virginia was, I’m going to go ahead and say I’m not sure we’ll be doing it again when we have only two weeks of break. Getting back to Doha and starting school has been hard. Thankfully we only had a three day week so now we have a couple of days to catch our breath, get some sleep, and start the next part of the year strong.

Really trying to write more often in 2017, and joining Kelly for a few quick takes for the week seems like the perfect way to kick it off.

-1-

As crappy as this week began, I’ve had a really great start to the weekend. Last night I had a few friends over to try our hand at vision boarding. I’ve made a vision board almost every year for the last decade with differing degrees of commitment. This year I worked hard to find pictures that inspire me, motivate me, and capture how I want to feel in 2017. I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. I have it hanging above my nightstand so I can get a glimpse of it on a regular basis and keep my focus for the year.

img_7418

-2-

I also found myself finally visiting the Farmers’ Market here in Doha this morning! I’ve been wanting to go since the weather cooled down and today I made it. It was awesome. It was so nice to be outside enjoying the weather and find out what they offer. I walked away with quite the haul since you have to buy everything in bulk, but I was able to split some things with friends and make a plan so nothing goes to waste. The only bummer was that the man from the flower stall was at prayer so I couldn’t buy any of his beautiful lilies. I guess that’s a good excuse to go back. I spent the rest of the day cleaning, chopping, and freezing produce and I’m looking forward to a healthy week ahead. img_7422

img_7427

-3-

Paul and I joined “The Biggest Loser” at school this week. The plan is just to weigh in, pay a fee, set a goal, and weigh in again in May. If you’ve met your goal you get a share of the pot. Paul and I both set a realistic goal of dropping 20 pounds by May so I’m hoping we’ll both get a cut of the prize. I’m not focused on counting calories so much as I am on eating clean. I just want to cut the processed junk, sugar, wine, and sadly, coffee. I just need to feel better and have energy throughout the day.

-4-

Clara’s been a bumbling mess this week. Poor girl seems to have a bit of a tummy ache from all the travel and mixed up days and nights. We’ve had two nights of her waking up every 1-2 hours screaming. She squirms and won’t nurse so it’s just a lot of rocking until she calms down and goes back to sleep. She seems to be feeling better this afternoon so fingers crossed we get some sleep tonight. Also, how is she big enough for toys like this now?fullsizerender-2

-5-

Staying with the Clara theme, she turned 4 months this week! She seems to have a lot more physical control of her body-she rolls over, sits up with assistance, grabs toys, and just generally can do more now. It’s so fun to see her personality coming out along with her laugh and squawks. She’s really a joy which is why it is so hard to see her not herself. We miss our happy baby!img_7361

-6-

And one more Clara…I found this picture of Stella on Time Hop this week and I can’t get over how much they look alike. I thought she looked more like Sophie, but when I see Stella and Clara side by side I start to wonder. img_7345

-7-

Finally, Greek yogurt. Where have you been all my life? Paul convinced me to try some and it is so good with a bit of honey and fruit. Can’t wait to try the real deal in Athens over Spring Break, but for now the Lulu version will do. img_7429

So there you have it. All the boring details of our little life this week in seven quick takes. Hoping next week brings lots of sleep and a happier, healthier Clara!

Leave a Reply

